New Mexico School Counselor of the Year Award

Modeled after ASCA's School Counselor of the Year (SCOY) award, NMSCA seeks to recognize a New Mexico school counselor who follows best practices in their comprehensive school counseling program.

Nomination portal NOW CLOSED.

Thank you for your nominations.

For deadlines, information and application links see below.

Nominations & Application Deadlines

    • Nomination Window Closes:  April 1, 2024
    • Nomination Application Due:  May 1, 2024
    • The Winner will be notified by: May 24, 2024
    • NM ASCA Nominees Due:  TBD by ASCA
    • ASCA Applications Due:      TBD by ASCA

Who is Eligible for Nomination?

School counselors who have worked in New Mexico for at least one year prior and have been a practicing School Counselor for at least three years (state/location may vary). 

Additional eligibility requirements include:

  • Must hold a master's degree in school counseling or equivalent
  • Must be licensed as a school counselor by the NM PED 
  • Must be an NMSCA and ASCA professional member since November 2023
  • Must be a full time school counselor
  • Must not have been an NMSCA School Counselor of the Year finalist within the past five years
  • Cannot be a previous NMSCA School Counselor of the Year or an ASCA School Counselor of the Year.
  • No restrictions on re‐nominating semi‐finalists.
  • Must have been nominated by his or her peer(s) and/or administrator(s).

Nominate a School Counselor

To nominate a School Counselor you will need to know the information below:
  • Applicant's current contact information
  • Number of years experience as a full-time School Counselor
  • Number of years in current position/school

Click on SCOTY Portal to nominate

SCOTY Portal

SCOTY Application Process

All nominees will be contacted via email with application details.

NMSCA strongly encourages SCOTY finalists to apply for the ASCA SCOY award later in the year.

SCOTY Selection Process

Completed applications are screened for eligibility prior to review. 

Please be sure to follow all application guidelines carefully and ensure you meet eligibility requirements. 

Finalists are generally notified in May.

Previous SCOTY Winners

2023 Stacey Sieberg

2022 Kathleen Hager

2021 Heather Fried

2020 Elesha Fetrow

2018 Kendra Moulton

2017 Katie Doss

2016 Beverly Tenorio

2015 Vicki Price

Not a Member yet? JOIN NOW!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software